The Church defines Sacraments as “efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us” (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1131).

Each sacrament consists of a visible external rite, which is composed of `matter’ and `form’, the `matter’ being the material element used as well as the action performed with it, such as the pouring of water in the case of Baptism, and the `form’ being the words spoken by the minister.

The Church has definitively defined the seven Sacraments at the Council of Lyons II (1274). These are: The Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist); The Sacraments of Healing (Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick) and The Sacraments of Vocation (Marriage and Holy Orders)

May your study of the seven Sacraments enable you to experience Christ more deeply so that your union with Him may bear fruit in your lives.