St. Thomas Feast

     The Feast of our patron, Saint Thomas, who is the first apostle of India, is very dear to us Thomasians. Every year, though the feast comes during the rainy season on the 3rd of July, the feast fervour is the same – full of excitement & joy. Whether rain or storm, it does not stop our parishioners planning for the parish feast at the beginning of the academic year. This year too, we had the regular novena in honour to St. Thomas with a Triduum ending the novena, where communities brought their offerings of pulses & other necessity items to be distributed among the less fortunate ones of our community. The feast was celebrated on Sunday, the 7th July 2019, with a solemn feast mass celebrated by Rev. Bp. Allwyn D’Silva at 9 AM, followed by a mini fete in the church premises. After the mass, everyone was served a piece of delicious cake.

     The highlight of the feast this year was the Lucky raffle draw, which included a variety of gift items of home appliances and other multiple home products. The first three prize winners were announced immediately after the mass & rest of the winners at the fete. In all, 20 prizes were given out. The fete had yummy goodies & tasty mouth-watering food stalls put up by our communities & the peppy music added to the festive spirit.
The CSA (Centre for Social Action – headed by Fr. Mario) put up a nutritious food stall for last three days, made by the tribals. The parishioners patronised these stalls generously, thus helping the tribals earn their livelihood.

     The feast celebrations ended by noon as we moved on to our homes to celebrate further, the Joy of our Parish Feast, with our family and friends.

Mentioned below, are the winners of the hamper prize on the feast day.

Winners Name Unit
1st Prize Jyothi Lobo Sunder Nagar
2nd Prize Mirelle David Church Colony
3rd Prize Denis Peter D’souza Station Road
4th Prize Pramila D’souza Itt Bhatti
5th Prize Nichole Fernandes Panduranwadi
6th Prize Evette Netto Jayprakash Nagar
7th Prize Carmel Rasquinha Panduranwadi
8th Prize Nazma Fernandes Govind Nagar
9th Prize Gile Dias Mahindra Nagar
10th Prize William D’souza Mahindra Nagar
11th Prize Susan Mendes Piramal Nagar
12th Prize Ashley D’souza Mahindra Nagar
13th Prize Alyssa Taylor Church Colony
14th Prize Spencer Stevens Church Colony
15th Prize Alice D’souza Shreyas Colony
16th Prize Donald Gonsalves Jayprakash Nagar
17th Prize Zenobia Denis Kailashpuri
18th Prize Melvin Manke Chincholi Bunder
19th Prize Denis D’silva Peru Baug
20th Prize Melita Pereira Vishweshwar Nagar